The coolest books about Rome

Normally when someone thinks of a book about Rome they imagine (rightfully so) tons of informations and photos about history. The history of Rome is incredible and very interesting, but not everybody can be passionate about it. I love my city and her story but Rome has way more that the eyes can see and the ears can hear. That’s why I started to discover books about Rome, and not only historical! Yeah, you heard me right! There are so many books I’ve found in these years that it’s time to share!

Claudio Colaiacomo – Keep Calm e Passeggia per Roma
keepcalm
This book is precious. Is like walking around the city while you are wrapped in your blanket with a warm cup of tea in your hands. Incredibly detailed. The itineraries are rich and full of particulars. I read this every time I want to have an imaginary walk.

Elena Pigozzi – Come Difendersi dai Romani
comedifendesi.jpg
Nothing could be funnier than this book. So many fun facts about the modern Romans. Let’s say a practical guide on how to defend yourself from them. Funny, light and eventually full of informations that can come quite handy while living here!

Patrizio Cacciari – Grandi e Piccole Storie su Roma che non ti hanno mai raccontato
grandiepiccole
When I purchased this book I was so happy, but when I came home and started reading it I was incredibly amazed and full of joy: the weird and incredible stories about Rome are in this book. I can’t explain how good it is. From the suburbs of Rome to the Mago Guarda. This book needs to be in your collection!

Francesco Possenti – Colore de Roma
colorederoma
Found this one at my local flea market, and well if you love poems and vintage photos this is exactly the stuff for you. This book is filled with lovely poems about every place of Rome (from Campo dè Fiori to Frascati). Plus the poems are in Romanesco! A little gem.

Mario Spagnol – Guida ai Misteri e Segreti di Roma
guidamisteriroma
This one is for the curious! (Almost) every secret and mystery of Rome is told in this book. It contains beautiful photos too. It’s not easy to find I think, but it is worth a try!

Elliott Erwitt – Rome
elliottrome
I received this as a gift and it is a spectacular photographic book, it shows quite a modern Rome. Flipping through it brings you back to different times and makes you live the scene you are looking at. Incredible and amazing. A must have!

Flavia Falbo, Alice Muzzioli, Francesca Gabrielli – Guida Verace del Centro Storico / Andrea Martire – Guida Verace di Centocelle


These two books are actually my favorites! Wrote by young Romans and packed with interesting stories and informations about where to eat, drink, do your authentic local grocery and much more. Unmissable!

Leave a comment