My 6 Favorite Authentic Roman Snacks in Centocelle

Walking through the streets of Rome, doesn’t matter in which neighborhood, is always going to make you hungry. Tons of delicious and tempting options, with which I had the luck to grow up, stare at you waiting to be devoured, and the best places to do so are commonly the coziest and simplest ones, especially in areas that are sometimes a bit left out. No frills, only pure goodness. I went around my neighborhood to try out the best snacks that can be found; pizzette rosse, pizza bianca e mortadella, maritozzi and more. This is going to be a heart warming food journey, filled with a pinch of memories.

Pizza e Mortadella at “Antichi Sapori Centocelle

Pizza & Mortadella

The magic and the authenticity this place exudes is beyond words! An iron statue of a boar welcomes you to the most colorful alimentari in the area. Stepping foot inside is like entering a whole new dimension, made of tasty regional products (Pecorino, coppiette), and the freshest basic needs such as bread, cheese and cold cuts, including pasta, cookies and dried goods. The cheerful and welcoming feeling, given by the authentic Romanità of the place, is another reason to check out this little gem. Perfect snack on the go with freshly thinly cut mortadella is the pizza co’ la mortazza. Glorious! (How much: 2,50€ – Where: Via delle Acacie, 41/A)

Pizzette Rosse at “Forno Costantini

Pizzette Rosse

Their truck can be seen everywhere, delivering bread around the city! This forno, a staple in Centocelle, has its space in a small laboratory with only an expo right at the door. When entering the street its in, the overwhelming smell of freshly baked bread takes over, guiding your senses towards their door. That’s what happens with me every time. My mom loves their pizzette with olive verdi, but what I’m fond of is their pizzette rosse (the small rounded thin tomato based “discs” of heaven); probably my favourite in Roma. (How much: 1,50€ for 4 pizzette – Where: Via delle Betulle)

Lingua con le Patate at “Supermercato Panificio Rossetti

Lingua con le Patate

So many memories, every time I pass by here! My mom with her cart filled with so many delicious things and the small slice of pizza bianca that they would always offer me as a kid, are just a few. Baking for over 60 years, this forno is assuredly another cornerstone for bread in the neighborhood. Me and my mom would come by to get bread and pizza bianca, but what really stands out, is their lingua con le patate. The name “lingua” (tongue) comes from the shape of the slice, a sort of flatbread with savoury toppings, with in this case, the potato one being the absolute boss. Salty, embracing and filling. A carbo bomb, but who cares! (How much: 1,11€ – Where: Via degli Olivi, 54/58)

Pizzetta at “Da Giustina

Pizzetta Margherita

I can’t begin to describe how important this place is in my neighborhood and how insanely delicious it is! I remember my parents ordering on the phone, for a special night of pizza. What makes it so unique and a must when in Centocelle, is their pizzette, well known already for many, many years. A magnificent mix of pizza and bread dough covered in, what I think is one of the best tomato sauces and mozzarella. Their pizzette are on display with various ingredients on top, but the Margherita is the true queen. There’s nothing better than to see all that sauce overflow, while eating it on the street. (How much: around 2€ – Where: Viale della Primavera, 221)

Supplì at “Ari Pizza

Supplì

When my mom, after having picked me up from school, would say to me that she had taken some pizza al taglio and supplì from this place, I would literally start drooling. Their pizza Margherita is one of the most flavorful things I’ve ever eaten and I can, without a doubt, recall at any moment its incredible taste. But the winner of it all, is the supplì. Perfectly balanced and looking so good you almost don’t want to eat it, their fried ball of rice is a masterpiece. Especially when it is a flawless “al telefono” kind of supplì. (How much: 1€ – Where: Via Dei Castani, 72)

Maritozzo at “Dolciaria Pasticceria Jolì

Maritozzi

Not everything has to be salty when snacking! This round whipped cream goodness is a wonderful exponent of Roman sweet snacks, with dough made of flour, eggs, honey, butter and salt. In my neighborhood I found one of the best at this old, local bakery, where you can get glimpses of bakers at work in their laboratory, while shopping for some real good treats. My mom would order all the family’s birthday cakes here and no wonder why! The beauty of the maritozzo is that it can be consumed at any time: breakfast, afternoon and especially after a night out, where the bakeries found themselves open exactly when clubs and bars are closing. (How much: around 2,50€ for 2 maritozzi – Where: Via dei Castani, 302)

You’ve got to love Roma and its freakishly good options of food. What stands out for me, however, is how easy it is to grab a quick bite while still staying connected to tradition. No matter how many years, or even decades, go by, Roman specialties will never disappear and that’s a relief. Something I love even more, is how even a small suburban neighborhood like Centocelle (where I was born) can be so exciting food wise. So, next time, step on tram 5 or 19 and come over here, you’ll find true treasures waiting.

1 Comment

Leave a comment